Home / Music News / Pet Shop Boys are releasing ‘Catalogue: 1985-2012’, ie reissues of their Parlophone albums

Pet Shop Boys are releasing ‘Catalogue: 1985-2012’, ie reissues of their Parlophone albums

Up-and-coming electronic pop purveyors Pet Shop Boys have announced ‘Catalogue: 1985-2012’, “a very special series of reissues of all their studio albums released on Parlophone” according to a press release with lots and lots of song titles in it.

As with the group’s first batch of album reissues in the early-2000s, each edition will include a remastered version of the original album alongside ‘Further listening’ collections of “master quality bonus tracks and demos created in the same period of time as each album, as well as Pet Shop Boys’ own remixes of their tracks”.

Some of those tracks, including an Elton John duet, are being released for the first time, so that’s nice. As before, each album will come with a nice booklet in which Neil and Chris discuss each song, and there will also be some pretty pictures.

This seems like as good a time as any to reacquaint ourselves with the best song to be included on the ‘Very’ further listening CD, ie ‘Falling’, the song they wrote for Kylie which she sort of accepted but only after she’d taken out all the tune and most of the lyrics.

Anyway the first three of the new batch are out on July 28 and they’re ‘Nightlife’, ‘Release’ and ‘Fundamental’.

(‘Yes’ is still to come, which will hopefully mean there are loads of Xenomania out-takes on the horizon, and if the pop gods are smiling on us might also mean we get the Neil version of Girls Aloud’s ‘The Loving Kind’.)

These are the lots and lots of songs that will be included on the first releases:

Nightlife/Further listening: 1996-2000


  1. For your own good
  2. Closer to Heaven
  3. I don’t know what you want but I can’t give it any more
  4. Happiness is an option
  5. You only tell me you love me when you’re drunk
  6. Vampires
  7. Radiophonic
  8. The only one
  9. Boy Strange
  10. In denial
  11. New York City boy
  12. Footsteps


  1. Vampires (demo)*
  2. For all of us (demo)*
  3. Call me old-fashioned (demo)*
  4. Friendly fire
  5. Believe/Song For Guy (featuring Elton John)*
  6. Sail Away
  7. It doesn’t often snow at Christmas (Fan club mix)
  8. Nightlife
  9. Playing in the streets*
  10. Tall thin men*
  11. Radiophonic (demo)*


  1. Somebody else’s business
  2. Silver age
  3. Screaming
  4. For all of us**
  5. The ghost of myself
  6. Casting a shadow
  7. I don’t know what you want but I can’t give it any more (The PSB Extension): 8.39
  8. Was it worth it? (live)**
  9. Lies
  10. Paris city boy (Full French)*
  11. Positive role model
  12. Somebody else’s business (extended mix)**

* Previously unreleased

**Previously unreleased on CD

Release/Further listening: 2001-2004


  1. Home and dry
  2. I get along
  3. Birthday Boy
  4. London
  5. E-mail
  6. The samurai in autumn
  7. Love is a catastrophe
  8. Here
  9. The night I fell in love
  10. You choose


  1. Between two islands
  2. Searching for the face of Jesus
  3. Time on my hands
  4. Motoring (demo)*
  5. Love life**
  6. Transparent
  7. Sexy Northerner
  8. The night is a time to explore who you are (demo)*
  9. Closer to Heaven (slow version)
  10. Run, girl, run (demo)*
  11. I didn’t get where I am today
  12. Always
  13. Home and dry (ambient mix)
  14. Bright young things (demo)*
  15. Kazak*
  16. A powerful friend (John Peel version)*
  17. If looks could kill (John Peel version)*


  1. Try it (I’m in love with a married man)
  2. Here (PSB new extended mix)
  3. If looks could kill
  4. A powerful friend**
  5. Party song
  6. No excuse (demo)*
  7. Blue on blue
  8. Jack and Jill party (demo)*
  9. Baby (demo)
  10. Flamboyant (original demo)
  11. Miracles
  12. Flamboyant (7” mix)
  13. Numb (demo)
  14. In private (featuring Elton John)
  15. Alone again, naturally (featuring Elton John)*
  16. Reunion (Electro mix)*
  17. Bright young things
  18. We’re the Pet Shop Boys
  19. It’s a sin (Barfly version)

* Previously unreleased

** Previously unreleased on CD

Fundamental/Further listening: 2005-2007


  1. Psychological
  2. The Sodom and Gomorrah Show
  3. I made my excuses and left
  4. Minimal
  5. Numb
  6. God willing
  7. Luna Park
  8. I’m with Stupid
  9. Casanova in Hell
  10. Twentieth century
  11. Indefinite leave to remain
  12. Integral


  1. Fugitive (Richard X extended mix)
  2. Ring road (demo)*
  3. The performance of my life (demo)*
  4. One-way street (demo)*
  5. Girls don’t cry
  6. The Resurrectionist
  7. The Sodom and Gomorrah Show (original demo)**
  8. Dancing in the dusk (demo)*
  9. After the event
  10. The former enfant terrible
  11. No time for tears (orchestral mix)*
  12. God willing (original full-length mix)*
  13. I’m with Stupid (PSB maxi-mix)
  14. Answer the phone! (ringtone)**
  15. Where are you? (ringtone)**
  16. Water (ringtone)**
  17. Numb (single edit)
  18. One night
  19. A certain “Je ne sais quoi”
  20. Transfer (Visionaire mix)*
  21. Integral (PSB Perfect Immaculate 7” mix)**
  22. Integral (PSB Perfect Immaculate mix)

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased on CD

The post Pet Shop Boys are releasing ‘Catalogue: 1985-2012’, ie reissues of their Parlophone albums appeared first on Popjustice.

Click Here For Original Source Of The Article

Check Also

Need A Lyft?: Uber Paid Hush Money To Cover Up Data Breach

Uber and the popular ridesharing firm’s new CEO, Dara Khosrowshahi, has another mess to clean up thanks to the former CEO Travis Kalanik. The company revealed to Bloomberg News that they hid the fact they paid hackers to cover up a data breach in October 2016. Unbelievable… The hackers reportedly tried to extort Uber after they […]

The post Need A Lyft?: Uber Paid Hush Money To Cover Up Data Breach appeared first on Hip-Hop Wired.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *